Govt Releases ₹150cr For Construction Of Two Rrts Corridors | Delhi News

4 Min Read


NEW DELHI: The Delhi government has finally released Rs 150 crore as first instalment of its contribution in the construction of two proposed corridors of the rapid rail transit system. While Rs 100 crore is for Delhi-Shahjahanpur-Neemrana-Behror line, the remaining amount will be spent on the Delhi-Panipat corridor.
Officials said the Supreme Court had earlier rapped the Delhi government following which the transport department sought a provision of Rs 495 crore in the revised budget estimates to pay for RRTS.With no demand from the department this year, the finance department of the Delhi government had not made any allocation in the budget estimates for 2023-24 for the Delhi-Meerut corridor, which is under construction, and the proposed lines of Delhi-Panipat and Delhi-SNB.
The government had paid Rs 500 crore in May and Rs 495 crore earlier this month from the environment compensation charge, which is collected from goods vehicles entering the capital, for the Delhi-Meerut section.
As per the details submitted by National Capital Region Transport Corporation, the Delhi government’s share for the two proposed corridors stands at Rs 5,704 crore, which will have to be paid in six years in pre-decided annual instalments till 2028-29.
In 2024-25, Delhi will have to pay Rs 800 crore for Delhi-SNB and Rs 100 crore for Delhi-Panipat line. It has already paid Rs 1,260 crore, including Rs 80 crore as additional GST due to revision in tax rates from 12 to 18%, for the under-construction Delhi-Meerut corridor so far.
“Now that we know we have to pay a specific amount for RRTS lines every year, we will make the necessary allocation from the 2024-25 budget onwards,” said an official.
Delhi will have to pay Rs 1,050 crore in 2025-26, Rs 1,300 crore in 2026-27, Rs 1,304 crore in 2027-28 and Rs 1,000 crore in 2028-29 financial years.
The overall cost of the three rapid rail corridors has been estimated at over Rs 91,000 crore, with the Centre and the states of Uttar Pradesh, Haryana and Rajasthan also contributing to the project.


Leave a comment