Many firsts! SRH-RCB blockbuster rewrites IPL record books in run-fest | Cricket News

5 Min Read

NEW DELHI: Sunrisers Hyderabad notched up a staggering total of 287-3 before clinching a 25-run victory over Royal Challengers Bengaluru on a Monday filled with record-breaking performances, highlighted by Travis Head‘s century.
SRH, having been invited to bat first by hosts RCB, surpassed their previous mark of 277 set last month, courtesy of Travis Head’s blazing 102 off just 41 balls.Head reached his ton in 39 balls for the fourth-fastest hundred in the competition as he set the tone for the assault.
Following Head’s departure, Heinrich Klaasen assumed control with his brisk 31-ball 67. The South African displayed similar aggression to Head, striking the ball to all corners of the ground before eventually falling victim to Lockie Ferguson.

Fellow South African Aiden Markram (32) and Abdul Samad (37) then combined forces to muster a formidable 59 runs off just 19 balls, igniting a final storm.
Virat Kohli (42) and captain Faf du Plessis (62) provided RCB with a scorching start, laying the foundation for their innings. Dinesh Karthik then unleashed a stunning assault, smashing 83 runs off just 35 balls, propelling RCB to 262-7.
The match saw numerous records being made. Take a look:

  • SRH’s total of 287/3 not only stands as the highest in IPL history but also marks the highest ever in franchise cricket.
  • This stands as the second-highest total ever recorded in T20 cricket, second only to Nepal’s 314/3 against Mongolia during the Hangzhou Asian Games.
  • RCB’s score of 262/7 while chasing 287 stands as the highest total ever recorded by a team batting second in the IPL.
  • The match produced the highest aggregate for a T20 game with a tally of 549 runs. The previous best was 523 between SRH and Mumbai Indians.
  • The match also equalled the record for the most boundaries hit in a T20 match, with a total of 81 boundaries scored, including 43 fours and 38 sixes.
  • SRH hammered 22 sixes, marking the most ever in an IPL innings, surpassing RCB’s previous record of 21 set against Pune Warriors India in 2013.
  • Four RCB bowlers have conceded 50+ runs – there have never been more than two bowlers doing the same previously in an IPL innings. Reece Topley (1/68), Yash Dayal (0/51), Lockie Ferguson (2/52), Vijaykumar Vyshak (0/64)

Share This Article
Leave a comment