Tripura West constituency of Tripura Lok Sabha Election 2024: Date of voting, result, candidates list, main parties, schedule | India News

4 Min Read

As the political landscape in Tripura braces for another intense battle, all eyes are fixed on Tripura West Lok Sabha constituency. With the next election slated for April 19, 2024, the region is abuzz with anticipation and political fervor.
The Tripura West Lok Sabha constituency is one of the two Lok Sabha constituencies in the state of Tripura, which includes the state capital, Agartala.So far, 15 elections and one by-election have been held for the Tripura West Lok Sabha seat. Renowned for its diverse demographics and socio-economic dynamics, the constituency holds a pivotal position in the state’s political spectrum.
The date of voting for the Tripura West Lok Sabha Constituency Election 2024 is April 19 (Phase 1). The date of counting and announcement of results is June 4.
Since 1952 the Left Front has been competing against each other in election against the Congress. In the Tripura West Lok Sabha seat, the contest will unfold between the BJP nominee and former Tripura Chief Minister, Biplab Kumar Deb and state Congress President, Ashish Kumar Saha, who is a common candidate of the INDIA bloc.
If one looks at the previous election results, it is clear that voters in this seat tend to vote for the party rather than the candidate. The BJP has never won this seat. There are a total of 30 assembly seats in this parliamentary constituency.
According to the 2011 census, the total population of this seat is 3,671,132. In the 2019 election, BJP candidate Pratima Bhowmik won this seat with 573,532 votes, while Congress candidate Subal Bhowmik received 267,843 votes and CPM candidate Shankar Prasad Dutta received 171,826 votes. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, CPMs Shankar Prasad Dutta won from the Tripura West seat. He defeated his opponent, Congress candidate Arunoday Saha, by 503,486 votes.

Share This Article
Leave a comment